The Best Chicken I’ve had in my life   2 comments

My husband is tired of me saying it over and over again, so I’ll tell someone else now.

Last night we ate roasted chicken that our in-laws sent with the “Viajero”.  It was the BEST CHICKEN I’ve ever eaten in my life!      (The Viajero is a person who travels back and forth, bringing packages and gifts, with him or her to and from the United States and El Salvador).    My sister in law prepared it, and had roasted it with some kind of amazing spices.  I wanted to know if it was from the house or the store.  The bones were shorter, so it seems like a home-raised chicken.   They sent a roasted chicken some months back, but it was from my mother in law, and this one from my sister in law – it’s even better.

They also sent Queso Seco – a huge chunk of it, and some Alguashte – ground up pepitas, and Maize Joco – ground up toasted Maize for drinking in the morning.

We dug into the Queso Seco, which went well with our red wine – I splurged on Blackstone instead of our normal candy-tasting ‘Kangaroo’ Merlot.   Meanwhile, my husband ate almost the ENTIRE chicken.

2 responses to “The Best Chicken I’ve had in my life

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s truly amazing what a difference it can make to have chicken that isn’t full of steroids. When I got back to the states I didn’t eat chicken or eggs for a long time because they seemed tasteless to me. Even the Pollo Campero (Pollo con perro) restaurant makes KFC seem bland.

Leave a Reply

