My New Pila   2 comments

I miss my Pila  from El Salvador.   This must be hard to believe, considering the hardest part about doing laundry in the U.S. is carrying it to the machines, or to and from the laundromat.

I’m like one of those old people now who shake their head at new inventions.  I’m convinced the washing machine can’t clean clothes as good as  ‘the old fashioned way’.  It shakes and stirs them, makes a lot of bubbles, and ultimately perfumes your clothes about 80-90% clean.   Don’t get me wrong:  the washing machine was a great invention, but chances are your clothes wont hit the 100% clean mark.   That extra 10-20% the machine misses has to be caught by you before getting baked on in the dryer – but how to when you don’t have a Pila?

There’s simply nothing like the Pila for:  just a few items or very small loads, isolating bright dyed items that run (heck, almost all do these days), washing stinky socks separately, etc.

I tried bending over the bathtub, cleaned two very soiled jeans and a few pairs of socks, but my back was not happy with me later.

My new Pila

So…I came up with something:

This table, set near the back door sits at an angle, so the soapy water does down the drain, which runs into the sewage pipe (no, it doesn’t go back into natural waterways or the harbor).

Mind you, this will work 8 months out of the year in New England, tops. After December 1st, fingers will turn into frozen sausages and the back patio a skating rink.    We’ll see what I come up with later.

2 responses to “My New Pila

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know right, the holy pila, wish we had them here in NY.

  2. Alex, I sense some sarcasm in those words, perhaps I am wrong, but I cannot picture a young Salvadoran-American lavando sus calcetines y calconcillos en la pila, ja ja ja jaaaaaaaaaa! Sorry to read you went through Hurican Sandy, but maybe it was a way of commiserating with your compadre paisanos in El Salvador. Take care, nice to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

