You have WHAT in your yard!?   4 comments

coffee tree, Los Planes de Renderos, El Salvador

So I’m talking with my neighbor Sabas over the fence the other day.  He’s the same guy with the cool birds and plants I’ve mentioned before.   He had a couple soup bowls from meals I’ve passed over, and we were chatting about water bills or taxes, or something affecting the general populace here, when a small tree behind him caught my eye.

It’s fruit has small reddish brown berries.   “Hey, that looks like coffee over there.”  “Oh that, yeah, that IS coffee,” he tells me.   What!!??   “Sabas, I say, why don’t you pick the beans to make coffee?”  “Oh no,” he tells me, “that would be a lot of trouble, for the small amount of beans, then you gotta dry ’em – and I’ve only got shade over here – then shuck em, then take ’em to the molino (person with a grinder), wouldn’t be worth it..”   I offered my sunny yard for drying them if he’d like.  Might be fun to pick and make a small batch just for experience sake, then sit and have a cup with Sabas when we’re all through.  I think Sabas and I are gonna do some coffee pickin’ this coming weekend.

 

 

4 responses to “You have WHAT in your yard!?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved the coffee plants in El Salvador, but not for the reason that you’re thinking. Whenever I walked through a finka, I would pick the ripe beans and suck on them. I don’t know if it had any caffein in it when I did that, but the flavor was unlike anything else I’ve ever had. Give them a try.

  2. great blog, enjoy your stories, Iwas A U.S. Marine stationed at the U.S. Embasy in San Salvador from 1978 -1980. Loved the country and the people, married a local gilr who worked at the Embassy. Still visit almost every year.

  3. I’m going to try it!

Leave a Reply

