Visitors   2 comments

It’s that time of year again…now that rainy season is in full swing, signs of life begin to emerge.   We inaugurate the  new “winter” season in El Salvador – which compares more to spring in temperate climates, with plants bursting green everywhere  – with a visit from some friends who emerged from the foliage.

I was literally sitting on the toilet the other day, when in marched Mr. Walking Stick, not in the least concerned I was already in the bathroom.   Unable to move, I was grateful to see him on the other side of the bathroom, heading for refuge behind the trash can.

A day later, shortly after blowing my hair out, I spied a strange object on the corner of the dresser mirror.

Was he there the whole time or did he just wiggle his way up there?

What's that on the mirror?

Hey, weren't you in the bathroom the other day?

Yep - it's Mr. Walking Stick again

CLICK to enlarge Green visitor

Either coming as a voyeur or looking a makeover, I didn’t mind visits from Mr. Stick.

Returning home late evening this same day, what do I find on the pot we use to heat water every day, but a bright, green…

This visitor was a bit more intrusive.  Luckily I found it before my husband, as I have learned over the past year or more that Salvadorans are DEATHLY afraid of caterpillars.   Who knew?  And us Americans, we think they are soooooo cute.

Almost everyone I know from El Salvador says ‘eek’ when seeing a ‘gusano’ or even mentioning one.  On a walk with a friend the other day, we passed a small tree / bush that had been cut or fallen partially into the street.  She screamed, hopping over the branches, and dashing ahead. “Ewwww, gusanos!” she said.   I took a look.  In fact, there was a gathering.  And they were gorgeous, with bright colors like yellow, black and red.  Their fear is not irrational:  caterpillars here can give a smart sting, so they learn quick as children ‘Don’t Touch!’

2 responses to “Visitors

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love all your blogs about bugs! There are so many neat bugs here in El Salvador. I saw one the other day that looked like the head of a snake. I still don’t know what it is. And what you say about gusanos is true! Sometimes if I start talking about bugs or gusanos one of my friend looks at me and says “Guacala!!” And have you noticed that people call both worms and catepillars, “gusanos”?

  2. (thought I replied to this earlier – technical difficulties I guess)

    I would love to see that snake head bug :-)) Yes, they tend to call any caterpillar or worm a gusano which is confusing. Although my husband calls earthworms “lumbrices” (lumbriz) when he collects them to go fishing.

    Last weekend when we went fishing my husband and his buddies jumped back like 5 feet when they saw a gigantic gusano at their fishing spot. It was the size of a large, fat man’s finger and bright green – bigger than my visitor in the blog. My nephew then said when he was little he touched one of them and was sick in bed for 2 days. Whoa.

Leave a Reply

