Como Decir Preservante Correctamente en Español / How to Say “Preservative” correctly in Spanish   3 comments

Spanish FridayI am finally participating in Spanish Friday today, a fun activity started at Latinaish.com.  Go to Spanish Friday or click the image on the right to learn more.

I confess, I cheated a little, but saved this  first version to show corrections my husband made.

Por fin he decidido participar en “Spanish Friday;” la siguente es mi primera entrada con este blog.

For non-Spanish speakers, scroll down to see the English translation.

Algunos de Uds.  ya sepan para donde voy con “preservante”.  Un error muy común con gringos, quizás, que no han aprendido cien por ciento del español.

Por mi parte, he tenido varios errores aprendiendo el idioma español, y les comparto algunos con Uds. Hoy.   Suerte que ya había tenido dos años de practicar el español antes que mudar hasta El Salvador, y eso me ha ayudado mucho.  Pobrecit@s Que no aprenden antes que llegar a su nuevo hogar latino.  Pues, les voy a contar mis errores famosos.

Los Planes

Un día íbamos en el carro cerca de San Salvador y pregunté a mi esposo, “Y donde vamos a ir ahorita?”  Vamos a ver Los Planes, decía mi esposo.  “Bien,” le dije, dejándolo “pensar” algunos momentos en los ‘planes’ que el tenia para donde íbamos.  Pocos momentos después le pregunte de nuevo “Y donde vamos a ir, Jesús?”   “Sos [vos eres] SORDA!  Ya te dije, que vamos a Los Planes de Renderos.”   “Oh…” le dije, “ahora, SI te entiendo.”

El Jardín

Un día, hace mas que un año, una amiga mía decía, “Jenny, porque no nos vamos al ‘Jardín’ ?  No está tan lejos de aquí.”  “Bueno,”  le dije, “Vamos otro día.”  Y el día que fuimos a visitar el “Jardín”, pensé yo que encontraremos un gran parque con flores y plantas, árboles y pájaros, de todo que se esperan en un lugar así.  Anduvimos en el carro con ella y su hija, y llegamos por un lugar, y ella me decía – “Aquí estamos.”  Mirando por todos lados, a ella y en el lugar, yo no decía nada, pero pensé, esto es muy extraño , pero quizás paramos aquí a visitar su amiga primero.  Una hora después, durante la visita, aprendí que el nombre del cantón donde estabamos se llama “El Jardín!”

La Annona Buena

Cada ano, durante su temporada, puede ver gente al a la orilla de la calle vendiendo annonas.  Y también andan vendiendo en las colonias.  Pues, así vinieron algunas mujeres con annonas tan grandes y buenas a nuestra puerta.  “Mi amor,” decía a mi esposo, “Quieres una enana?,”  le pregunte.  “Que?” me dijo.  “Una enana,” me repetí.  El  se paró, y vio a las mujeres a la puerta.  “Ah, están vendiendo annonas!”  “Si, como te pregunté.  Quieres uno?”   Y ligero entendí muy bien el error.  Me sorprendio que, las vendedoras no se rieron.

Lluvias muy fuertes

Hace casi siete años, yo trabajaba con un carpintero en Boston.  Como él no habló muy bien el inglés, hablabamos mucho en español.  Él se llama José, y me enseñó tanto – muchas palabras, especialmente de construcción, como “martillo,” “clavo”, “tornillo”, “cierra,” y mas.  Era invierno, y muchas veces mirábamos por afuera y veíamos el cielo muy gris y lleno de nubes.  “Guau,” le decía a él, “vamos a tener una tortuga!”   Éso nos pasó varias veces, y siempre yo le decía lo mismo.  Un día, mi esposo, quien fue novio mió en aquellos días, me visitó, y le conté lo mismo, mirando tras la ventana.  “Viene una tortuga!”  le decía.  “Tortuga?  No, Jenny, es una T-o-r-m-e-n-t-a.”  Quizás José tenia pena decirme la verdad.  O sea que él disfrutaba tanto el error que no quizo corregirme de decir la palabra “tortuga” cuando vi los nubes grises.

El Preservante que más te excita

Estuvimos en la cocina el otro día, hablando de una comida que me gusta hacer, se llama “Hummus.”  Pensando si es mejor hacerlo con garbanzos hervido o comprados en lata, le dije a mi esposo, “Creo que el hummus se durará mas con los garbanzos en lata, porque tiene preservativos.”  “Si?”, me decía, riéndose.  “ooh, muuuchos preservativos.”  “Pues, Jenny, la palabra es ‘preservante.’  Recuerdas que quiere decir preservativo, no?”   “Ahhhh, si, se me olvida,” yo le decía, riendo también.   Hay muchos casos cuando se puede sacar la(s) ultima(s) letras de una palabra en inglés, y agregar una “a” o una “o” al fin, y así se tiene la palabra en español.  En esta ocasión, no se hace éso.   [ o mejor dicho (?) --  "no se lo hace" ].

—-   English Rendition below — 

Some of you may already know where I’m going with “preservatives.” A common mistake with gringos, perhaps, who have not learned one hundred percent Spanish.
For my part, I have had several errors learning the Spanish language, and I share some with you today. Lucky I had had two years of practice Spanish before moving to El Salvador, and that helped me a lot.  The poor things, who do not learn before they reach their new Latino home.  Well, I’ll tell you some memorable mistakes.
Plans
One day we were in a car near San Salvador and I asked my husband, “Where are we going now?”  Let’s see about the Plans, said my husband. “Well,” I said, letting  him to think for a moment about his “plans” as to where we were going.  A few moments later I asked again, “And where are we going, Jesus?”  “You are DEAF!, he said.  “I told you, we’re going to Los Planes de Renderos.” (an actual place, not  “plans.”   )   “Oh …” I said. “Now I understand.”
The Garden
A year or so ago, a friend of mine said “Jenny, why don’t we go to the ‘Garden’? It’s not so far from here if you want to go.” “Ok,” I told her, “Let’s go another day.” And the day we visited the “Garden” I thought that we would find a large park with flowers and plants, trees and birds, all that’s expected in such a place. We went in the car, myself, Jasmine and her daughter, and arrived at a house, and she said “Here we are.” Looking around, I said nothing, but thought, this is very strange, but maybe we stopped to visit her friend first. An hour later, during the visit, I learned the name of the town where we were visiting is called “The Garden”.
The Good Annona
Each year, during their season, you can see people at the side of the street selling annonas. They also sell door to door in neighborhoods. A couple women brought some nice looking annonas to our door one day. “Honey,” I said to my husband, “do you want a dwarf?”   “What?” he said.  “A dwarf,” I repeated.   He got up, and saw the women at the door. “Oh, they’re selling annonas!” “Yes, like I said, you want one?”   I quickly understood the error.   Surprisingly, the vendors did not laugh.
[ Annona = fruit.  Enona = dwarf ]

Heavy rains
Almost seven years ago, I worked with a carpenter in Boston. Since he did not speak English very well, we talked a lot in Spanish.   Jose taught me so much – many words, especially construction ones, like “hammer,” “nail”, “screw”, “saw” and more. It was winter, and we often looked outside to see the sky very gray and full of clouds. “Wow,” I said to him, “we are going to have a turtle!”    That happened to us several times and I always said the same thing. One day, my husband, who was my boyfriend in those days, visited.  I told him, looking through the window, “Here comes a turtle!”  ” No, Jenny, it’s not a ‘Tortuga’, it’s a T-o-r-m-e-n-t-a.”  Perhaps Jose did not want to tell me the truth.  Or maybe he enjoyed the error so much, he just couldn’t stop me from saying “turtle” at the appearance of gray clouds.
The most exciting preservative
We were in the kitchen the other day, talking about a food I like to make sometimes, called “Hummus.” Thinking about whether to make it with boiled chickpeas versus canned, I told my husband “I think it lasts longer with canned chickpeas, because it has condoms.” “Yes?” he said, laughing. “Ooh, many condoms!”  ” Jenny, the word is ‘preservative.’  Remember the word for condoms right?    “Ahhhh, yes, I forget,” I said, laughing too.  There are many cases when one can take off the last letter(s) of an English word and just add an ‘a’ or an ‘o’ at the end and there you have the Spanish word.  This is not one of those occasions.   Preservativo = Condom.

3 responses to “Como Decir Preservante Correctamente en Español / How to Say “Preservative” correctly in Spanish

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hilarious! … I was especially laughing at Los Planes and tortuga. As for preservatives, I’m afraid to even think about whether I’ve made this mistake in polite company – I probably have. ROFL. No wonder my suegra was against using comida en lata. Maybe I scared her off them? jajajaja

    Saludos a ti y tu esposo. Gracias por participar en Spanish Friday :)

  2. Jen,

    see if you can look up “Cuentos de Cipote” by Salarrue. Your stories reminded me of him.

    Marina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

